databases

...now browsing by tag

 
 

Wonky database? Web site acting up? Who you gonna call?

Wednesday, November 4th, 2009

If there’s something weird and it don’t look good Oh, who you gonna call? Ghostbuster movie song lyrics

You know what it’s like. Your favorite library database, web site, or service is acting weird. Is it broken? If it’s broken, is it coming back soon? So many questions, so few answers. Do you pick up the phone? Naw, that’s so last century. Whatcha gonna do?

Check Library Alerts! It’s a blog feed right on the homepage. Some library resources are hosted right here at Cal State Fullerton, but we have several hundred databases and links to resources that are on servers somewhere else. All those servers and software need maintenance, and sometimes they break. If we know ahead of time that there will be a scheduled down time, we will post it on Library Alerts. Checking the alerts will often let you see if the problem you are encountering is a planned outage, or something we are working to fix.

What if you don’t see your problem listed in Library Alerts? Your next best friend is the Problems and Suggestions button, also on the library homepage. You can report problems there, and we will get right back to you individually as soon as we can with an answer or a fix. Remember, if there’s somethin’ strange in your Library, check out Library Alerts!

CCH databases now IntelliConnect

Wednesday, August 12th, 2009

CCH Securities and CCH Tax Research Network have merged and are now named IntelliConnect. To access IntelliConnect, at the Library’s home page click on FIND DATABASES and then on INTELLICONNECT.

Please note that IntelliConnect can also be found by searching by tag: CCH.

As of August 12, 2009, these databases will no longer appear in FIND DATABASES under “CCH.”

Environmental Abstracts - interface change

Monday, July 6th, 2009

LexisNexis Environmental has changed to ENVIRONMENT ABSTRACTS (CSA). This database can now be found under FIND DATABASES and then ENVIRONMENT ABSTRACTS (CSA). The database has more than 950 journals and encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

Following the Political Issues and the New Administration?

Monday, January 5th, 2009

Take a look at our subscription-based political information website, The National Journal.  This online source offers nonpartisan reporting on the current political environment and emerging policy trends and it includes polls, news, legislation updates, columns, and national and some state election tracking.  The National Journal online also contains  the full-text of articles from National Journal, Congress Daily, The Hotline, American Health Line, Technology Daily, and The Almanac of American Politics. To access this database, start at the Library homepage and click on Databases A-Z.

Muddled History? Clio Notes to the Rescue

Tuesday, December 16th, 2008

EBSCO’s America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts article databases have added Clio Notes to their interfaces. Clio Notes allows researchers to navigate detailed historical chronologies and subject themes, and launch searches into one of the two EBSCO history databases. It is a great way to quickly get oriented to an historical topic or era, such as the Vietnam War, the Great Depression, Boxer Rebellion in China, Spanish conquest of the Americas, Arab-Israeli wars, or the Fall of the Berlin Wall–to mention only a few of the hundreds of topics represented, and improve your searching.  Try it when you’re feeling muddled in history!
Clio Notes in America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts

Clio Notes in America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts

Title Change for Global Market Information Database (GMID)

Tuesday, December 16th, 2008

The Global Market Information Database (GMID) is now called Passport Reference.  Passport Reference contains the same information you’re used to locating in GMID:  in-depth industry profiles, market reports, and statistics for over 200 countries. Company profiles, product sector informaion, industry performance analysis, operating environments and economic outlook, consumer demographics, global and national perspectives. Includes 17,000 full-text reports.

Both titles will remain accessible on the Pollak Library’s Databases A-Z list until March 1, 2009.  After then it will be available only as Passport Reference.

Music scores available online

Friday, December 12th, 2008


Classical Scores Library has just released 3,607 additional scores. Included in this release are works by 84 new composers, including Berlioz, Chopin, Cornelius, Glinka, Gretry, Loewe, Marenzio, de Lassus, Palestrina, Rameau, Rossini, Schein, Schubert, Schuetz, Sweelinck, Victoria, among others.  Classical Scores Library is a fully searchable database of online scores available to all CSUF people for download. This database is growing so keep checking for your favorite items. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. For more information see http://shmu.alexanderstreet.com/help/view/about_classical_scores_library.

Searching American Chemical Society Journals from Find Journals

Monday, November 17th, 2008

The American Chemical Society Publications database is producing an error in Find Articles under Chemistry.

SFX Linking Fixed 11/18/2008

Due to a the change American Chemical Society made in their interface over the weekend, SFX links to ACS journals from the Pollak Library Find Journals list are not working properly.  You can still get to the ACS full text content by searching the American Chemical Society Publications collection directly.